mr. reliable
I've developed a reputation over the years as being a fairly unreliable person. That's not a very appealing trait, i know... but I've also realized that I haven't been doing much to dispel this image, either.
Case in point: last weekend.
Friday Night
Plan: Go into Cambridge and catch at least one of my guitar teacher's shows, one at TT's at 9pm and one at The Lizard Lounge at midnight.
What I really did: Went home to Malden and lost all will to do anything. Drank vodka tonic and watched The Empire Strikes Back.
Excuse: Malden will suck all the life out of anyone. It's a black hole for the soul.
Saturday
Morning Plan: Sneak in brunch w/ an ex while Winnie was off at her Korean lesson.
What I really did: Walked around Allston rock city. Got a haircut and a delicious egg sandwich at Herrell's.
Excuse: I was supposed to pick up my car while Winnie was heading to her Korean lesson but the garage couldn't find my keys, so I had to come back after Winnie's Korean lesson to get the car. BTW, it turns out the tensioner for my car's serpentine belt broke, causing the serpentine belt to come loose and wreak the havoc that it... uh... wreaked. $400.
Afternoon / Evening Plan: Go to Anna's housewarming, see Keane, catch Fooled By April's last show ever at the Paradise
What I really did: After picking up my car, I ended up playing some tennis. I wanted to head to Anna's (the housewarming, not the taqueria) but by that time I wouldn't have been able to make it to Keane at the FleetBoston Pavilion (an awesome venue, btw). Post-Keane I was very tempted to see fxa's last show (according to Joe and Brendan, it was an amazing time...) but I had nobody to go with me, so I ended up going to the Cactus Club and having people feed me margaritas. That wasn't too bad.
Excuse: Well, I did reply to Anna's evite with a 'maybe', and Glen justified missing the show by saying 'well have they ever come to one of our shows?'. I still would have liked to go to both (sorry, Anna!). Oh well.
Sunday
Plan: See Porsches On The Autobahn at night at the Enormous Room with Andrew.
What I really did: Got dim sum at some tasty place in Chinatown with some friends. Winnie then went off to hang w/ her Korean teacher, and Shayan and I walked from Chinatown to Newbury St and had a nice homoerotic shopping session. Got a call from Goss... barbeque? Sweet. So I walked from Newbury St to Brookline. Had beers, grilled stuff. Watched the Simpsons (new episode was awesome) and Family Guy (very awesome). Now it's 9:30pm and Porsches was supposed to start anywhere between 9 and 10. The T would take me maybe an hour to get from Brookline -> Central (yet another reason why I can't wait to be in NYC- a subway system that actually works). I forgot that when you don't have your car handy in Boston, it takes time to get places. Shit. Call Andrew to cancel, feel like complete dick. Walk to bubble tea place and kill time until I'm retrieved by girlfriend.
Excuse: No excuse. I screwed up. Andrew said Porsches were awesome (duh).
On one of my trips back to NYC, one of my best friends labeled me as 'The Overextender'... it was probably one of the many times I made plans with 30 people and thought I could somehow pull it off, a-la Mrs. Doubtfire. You'd think I would have learned to have the social planning skills of a 12-year-old by now. But then you'd be wrong.

2 Comments:
Excellent post, BK! The following goes to the tune of "The Entertainer." Somday when I'm bored I'll finish it...
"I am the Overextender"
"I am the overextender
And I know just where I stand
Another procrastinator
In another big-haired band
Today I made an appointment
We were supposed to grab a beer
But you know the game, it'll be the same
So have no fear, in another year
I'm sure we can meet up 'round here
I am the overextender
And I’ve had to pay my price
The plans I broke the first few times
I made and remade twice
Ah, but still they come to haunt me
Still they want their time
So I’ve learned to mute my cellular phone
I let ’em dial and dial and I chuckle a while
And eventually they leave me alone..."
Dude I crack me up. Laters!
Oh, just wait til you see how much the MTA screws people once you get back to the city... lol
Glad to see you had a fun weekend, though!
Post a Comment
<< Home