the crazy experiment
...has been terminated. I didn't try very hard to coax interesting AdWords out of the google black box, and after the pitiful few impressions from people that read my blog (both of you) and me not having earned a penny in the e-coffer and realizing that banner ads suck, even if they're from google, I took the code out (I think). Not that you care.
So Focusin had what may be our last practice on Tuesday. I don't think people wanted to talk about that fact... but it at least looks like we're not getting together again until after my move. The plan as it stands now is we'll try to get a weekend of gigs in October and December because, hey, we still have a lot of CDs and we still have a lot of fun playing gigs. What is left to be determined is my class schedule- it looks like I at least won't have Friday classes, judging by past semesters' schedules in the program... and I guess we can work around that.
I was about to wax poetic about Focusin and what we've done and where we came up short and our own Yokos and demons and muses and whatnot but I'll save the eulogy for another day. Glen did get a really sweet iPhoto book of pictures that spanned our whole career (have you ever used iPhoto to order a book? It's amazing. Not cheap, but amazing.)
August will be busy. Tomorrow is Mom's birthday, Saturday is Sarika's Big Fat Indian Wedding, which I'm very excited about because a) the groom (Akshay, who is the ubermensch of Indians) is riding in on a horse 2) it's open bar and I'm crashing in a friend's hotel room that night and d) it's all indian vegetarian food. Sarika is a Jain (which is, conviently, also her last name... like if my name was Bennett Jew or something) and I guess one caveat of that is that they don't eat meats... Winnie, on the other hand, is basically exclusively carnivorous-- she'll only eat vegetables if they're reconstituted from those metal ramen packets in MSG-saturated ramen broth, so getting away for a weekend to eat only veggie Indian food kind of excites me.
No, wait, I'm full of shit. Let me continue with my weekend... so I wake up from the mother of all hangovers (I assume I will be in a pile of beer bottles and samosa crumbs), wipe the chutney off my pants, and head to Brooklyn to go to the legendary Peter Luger steak house w/ Sako for a healthy Sunday brunch. I don't know if they have their full gamut of ridiculous legendary steaks available for lunch, but they at least have a legendary burger. Awesome.
Next weekend is my last weekend in Boston. Crazy. Next up... Bennett weighs in on the prospects of being an unemployed 26-year-old living at home versus taking out tens of thousands of dollars in student loans so he can be cool and move out of his parent's house (once again).

2 Comments:
Dude you're like mere miles away and don't even call? To quote Stephanie Tanner: "How rude!" :)
I bet you didn't even finish that burger. You suck. That's right, you heard me, punk. And you know you're a punk because you know I'm right: you didn't finish the burger. You disgust me.
Post a Comment
<< Home