endless, nameless

groin-grabbingly transcendent

Sunday, August 28, 2005

don't come 'round here no more

a quick update to tell the one or two people who read this blog and haven't already verified that i've survived my move and who actually care if i survive my move or not to say that i have indeed survived my move. i had my last day at work, stayed up till 3am packing and drinking champagne w/ winnie, drove a suckety suck u-haul from malden, ma to westchester, ny, unloaded the truck, moved my brother in to williamsburg, dropped the uhaul off, slept a few hours, went to a beautiful wedding in long island, got drunk before 1pm, took the train back, and now i'm trying my darndest to cram for these two mega ass-rape exams that i have tomorrow in music theory and music history that i just found out about on thursday. then i go back out to long island (huntington, methinks) for a crazy sexy post wedding party in the woods.

then maybe i'll have something to say.

love,
bennett

Tuesday, August 23, 2005

oregonian pix

click below for some pix from bennett's crazy oregon trip:




(that's the strip club that serves $4 steaks and $2.50 gyros and has strippers that have blacklight-sensitive tattoos)

Monday, August 22, 2005

back

after a long week of little sleep, a jaunt to newport, canada, new york, and portland (the oregon one, not the maine one), I'm back in Massachusetts for my last... week... EVAR. well, i'm sure i'll be back for visits, but i have a u-haul scheduled for this thursday that will officially take me from the state in which i've resided for EIGHT years back to the state where i resided for 18 years before that. i have many pictures and hilights of my trip to portland to share, including going to a strip club that serves $4 steaks and a visit to the rogue brewery for a free yard of beer on my birthday. giggidy.

updates soon!

Friday, August 12, 2005

payment and shipping info......................

Have you ever seen the Chapelle Show skit where Dave Chapelle goes on a walking tour of the internet? It's exactly what you'd expect-- actually, I think there are AOL commercials like this, too-- he gets bombarded by people offering him P3NIS ENL4G3MENT P1LLS and other sexual services (the difference between the Chapelle show skit and the AOL commercials is that Chapelle ends up pursuing some of the sexual advances...).

Anyhow, my point by making that very far-fetched allegory is that the internet is quite a sketchy place. Case in point- this blog exists. But also- so as you may know, I've been trying to sell my car for a little while now. I've put ads up on craigslist and cars.com, and both sites have a very blunt warning before you submit your info. You can see craigslist's description of common scams by following the big red link at the top of every page in their cars section:



So anyhow, I received an e-mail from someone named 'frank autos' maybe last week saying his 'client' was interested in my car. I figured, hey, let's at least see where this goes. He made an offer that was pretty reasonable, so I wrote back and asked where he lived and if he and his 'client' would like to set up a test drive. I got this this morning (in this font and everything- for some reason I couldn't un-italicize the rest of the blog entry):
---------------------------------------------
I have discussed with my Client on the price of your car he finally accepted your price,he hopes the engine is serviced and oil changed too . However,He made out a certified cashiers check of($16,000) before he
travelled for a conference,for a previous car and its shipment charges etc,but it was unfortunately sold.The amount on the check he deposited for the car is bigger than what should be paid to you now, so the check is
now meant for the total expenses which includes the purchase of your car,the pick up of the car from its present location and the shipping charges/other necessary shipping arrangements. However he has instructed us to carry on with this transaction. So you're required to deduct the cost of your car ($8,300)and send the balance of($7,700) to my client shipping agent to enable him offsett shipping charges/arrangements. once the transaction is concluded,My client shipping agent will be coming for
the pick up of the car from its present location, on an open vehicle and then drive to a pre paid shipper for shipment,and also conclude other necessary shipping arrangements.so you dont have to bother yourself about the pick up and shipping arrangements,while title papers and other necessary documets will be sent by you via fedex courier to us. Please Confirm this and provide (1) Name (2) Contact address for check payment to be delivered to you via fedex courier . Attn,please remove the add of the car from the website,
Thanks and God bless,


----------------------------------------

ya gotta love the 'God bless' at the end. classy.

So I may have interest from an actual human for something to the tune of $6200. I'll see if I can talk him up, but I'm sick of this crap and I just wanna sell the car already. C'est la vie.

Thursday, August 11, 2005

I am NOT buying a Scion

...but I'd consider the Mini after I graduate:

Best cars for singles - Forbes.com

Wednesday, August 10, 2005

please do not offer my god a peanut

(or another Jain bites the dust)

I've been to a few weddings in my time. Maybe if I had grown up a few generations ago or if I was from one of those Red states, I and all my friends would have been married years ago and I'd already be a grandpappy. But here I am, on the verge of turning 26, and only recently has talk of marriage started to run rampant amongst my friends.

The first few weddings I went to were Catholic... I think. At least two of them were, and one was maybe more of a non-denominational thing in a little gazebo on Cape Cod with just a handful of people in attendance and someone playing the harp. At one of the weddings a big scene was made about the fact that the groom was Catholic and the bride was Protestant... I might be getting that backwards, but really, the subtlety of the situation is entirely lost on me. But last weekend, I'm proud to say, I went to an Indian wedding for the first time.

I had a decent idea of what to expect. People had told me that the groom would ride in on a horse and there would be a lot of women in saris dancing and it would be a crazy and festive occasion. Just like a wedding should be. I was also looking forward to the open bar and all-vegetarian Indian menu that was to be offered.

So I show up somewhere in NJ- like Christianity, New Jersey is mostly a mystery to me- and meet Kristin and Nick at their hotel. I knew I was in the right place because I saw another car with Massachusetts plates and an Indian family getting out of it. I get into my spiffy suit and put some salve in my hair and we head to the lobby, where the guests were to meet to embark on the procession of cars. I thought you were only allowed to disobey traffic laws for a funeral procession, but the cavalcade of cars that left from the Marriott Courtyard to head to the Stone Museum seemed to think otherwise.

Now might be a good time to mention the pictures.

Pictures from the wedding

The Stone Museum was beautiful. As you can see from the pictures, they had set up a-- crap, all I know is the Jewish word, chuppa-- in the middle of the pond, and there was a lot of red and gold and Ganesh statues... giving the whole affair a sort of Giverny-meets-India feel. It was a sunny, hot, and humid day.

We waited in the parking lot of the Stone Museum in anticipation of Akshay's grand entrance on the horse. Even though Kristin and I are friends with Sarika through work, Sarika told us to be on the groom's side because they get to have all the fun. So at around 3pm, the horse is suited up and the drummer eunuch starts tapping away on his drum. However... the bridal party hasn't even left the hotel. I suspect that this is sort of a modern-day part of the Indian wedding where the bride is supposed to initially turn away the groom, but it turns out that Sarika's side really just felt like dragging their feet.

Maybe an hour and many calls from Akshay on his BlackBerry later (again, I thought it was part of the new mixing in with the old traditions), the crowd- now full of grumpy, tired kids- gathers around the horsey and the long procession to the museum's entrance begins. The drummer plays a beat and various women take turns dancing around and in front of the horse, as if they were temptresses trying to lure Akshay away (but then I realized that they were his cousins, so that's gross and my guess was wrong). Pretty fun. We eventually make it to the entrance, where a fully decked-out Sarika was there to greet her groom to be. It was kind of tough to discern what was going on because there were a lot of people in the area and I don't think much was spoken... all I know is that they threw rice and rose petals at each other and then we went into the main area where we had to fight for cups of water (it was hot) and then sit for the ceremony.

The ceremonies I've been to have all taken place in closed or small quarters- i.e. churches or gazebos. This was a bit different in that they were on basically an island in the middle of a pond and the guests sat facing the island. It was a bit like a movie in that respect. I sat as quietly as possible so I could hear what was going on and because I thought that was what you do during a wedding ceremony... but most of the crowd didn't seem to agree. Almost everyone was milling about and talking as the ceremony was going on. Some people were on cell phones. Kids were running around. Even drinks were being passed out! I don't know... a friend told me that she heard it's okay to talk in Indian events if you're talking about the subject matter at hand-- i.e. if the chatterboxes in the crowd were talking about the ceremony taking place, then that was okay. But Mrs. Patel says she had never heard of that 'rule' before and agreed that the people were being quite rude by blabbering on while the ceremony was taking place.

Again, it was kind of tough to follow what was going on as the priest-figure (not sure what the correct title would be) was chanting and various things were going on on the 'island' that I couldn't quite see. Every so often the priest would end a chant and say in a thick Indian accent something to the effect of 'and now is the time when the bride accepts the groom...'. They at least had the forethought to hand out some elegant booklets that explained the order of the ceremony and what was going on.

After a couple of hours of 'Ommm....'-- actually, the chants at times sounded like Hebrew, so there was a vague, visceral familiarity to the whole affair-- the ceremony ended and the crowd alit to the cocktail area for drinks and vegeterian appetizers served under a Ganesh carved out of ice. Pictures were taken, drinks were had, and eventually we made our way to the dinner room. Everything seemed to be behind schedule, but I was told that's how it is at Indian weddings. Dinner was delicious, and I wish I had more room for the desserts- there were various sorbets and I think a lot of stuff made out of paneer and sugar. Eventually I got pretty drunk and started jonesing for some coffee, but since the dessert was way behind schedule- apparently we were supposed to evacuate the museum by 10pm but dessert service didn't begin until maybe 10:05- I ended up dancing instead.

I think there's a factory that produces wedding and Bar Mitzvah and other special event DJs. Every such DJ I've seen has exactly the same voice- a kind of wacky, pitchy baritone- and uses the same mannerisms like 'At this time...' and '...so if you'll please take your seats...'. Sarika's brother and Akshay's brother made some nice speeches and then some Indian hip-hop was played and we danced. Well, they danced, and I kind of did my best Jacob Dylan* and just circled the dance floor and occasionally walked off to get more drinks.

Somehow Nick drove us safely home in spite of his car having a completely broken alternator (we needed about 3 jumps on the way back to the hotel) and him most likely being more than a little tipsy... and then we proceeded to drink more at the bar at the hotel and then in someone's room at the hotel. At around... I don't know, maybe 3am?... my narcolepsy circuit kicked in and I needed to be taken back to the room, where I found myself in my underwear and shirt sharing a bed with a very loudly snoring Muslim man four hours later. I hit the turnpike, drank the largest coffee I could afford from Starbucks, picked up my impeccably detailed Audi from home and tried to pawn it off on some sucker (no dice) and then took a train into NYC.

Next up in Bennett's Tales of his Wacky August Adventures- Bennett and Sako go to Peter Luger's and Bennett applies to the Apple Store!

rock on.

*lead singer of the Wallflowers... get it? ha!

Wednesday, August 03, 2005

the crazy experiment

...has been terminated. I didn't try very hard to coax interesting AdWords out of the google black box, and after the pitiful few impressions from people that read my blog (both of you) and me not having earned a penny in the e-coffer and realizing that banner ads suck, even if they're from google, I took the code out (I think). Not that you care.

So Focusin had what may be our last practice on Tuesday. I don't think people wanted to talk about that fact... but it at least looks like we're not getting together again until after my move. The plan as it stands now is we'll try to get a weekend of gigs in October and December because, hey, we still have a lot of CDs and we still have a lot of fun playing gigs. What is left to be determined is my class schedule- it looks like I at least won't have Friday classes, judging by past semesters' schedules in the program... and I guess we can work around that.

I was about to wax poetic about Focusin and what we've done and where we came up short and our own Yokos and demons and muses and whatnot but I'll save the eulogy for another day. Glen did get a really sweet iPhoto book of pictures that spanned our whole career (have you ever used iPhoto to order a book? It's amazing. Not cheap, but amazing.)

August will be busy. Tomorrow is Mom's birthday, Saturday is Sarika's Big Fat Indian Wedding, which I'm very excited about because a) the groom (Akshay, who is the ubermensch of Indians) is riding in on a horse 2) it's open bar and I'm crashing in a friend's hotel room that night and d) it's all indian vegetarian food. Sarika is a Jain (which is, conviently, also her last name... like if my name was Bennett Jew or something) and I guess one caveat of that is that they don't eat meats... Winnie, on the other hand, is basically exclusively carnivorous-- she'll only eat vegetables if they're reconstituted from those metal ramen packets in MSG-saturated ramen broth, so getting away for a weekend to eat only veggie Indian food kind of excites me.

No, wait, I'm full of shit. Let me continue with my weekend... so I wake up from the mother of all hangovers (I assume I will be in a pile of beer bottles and samosa crumbs), wipe the chutney off my pants, and head to Brooklyn to go to the legendary Peter Luger steak house w/ Sako for a healthy Sunday brunch. I don't know if they have their full gamut of ridiculous legendary steaks available for lunch, but they at least have a legendary burger. Awesome.

Next weekend is my last weekend in Boston. Crazy. Next up... Bennett weighs in on the prospects of being an unemployed 26-year-old living at home versus taking out tens of thousands of dollars in student loans so he can be cool and move out of his parent's house (once again).

Tuesday, August 02, 2005

heeeere I come to save the day!

okay, the end of days is near. first Apple says they're going Intel, and then they put out a multi-button mouse... sorta.

Check out the Mighty Mouse, which I'm sure I'll find an excuse to buy along with my Powerbook when I go to school and spend money I don't have to be more technologically equipped than I need to be.