endless, nameless

groin-grabbingly transcendent

Friday, May 06, 2005

Two things I don't like about the music industry, pt 1:
for those of you who don't know, I'm going to school in the fall for a master's in music technology at NYU... so in preparation for that, I'm studying all I can about music theory, the music industry, and music technology.
I recently picked up the new Mars Volta and Hot Hot Heat CDs (both rock) and noticed two things that really irk me that I'm sure is a result of record industry practices and NOT what the artists had in mind:

1) FBI ANTI-PIRACY WARNING! Both these CDs had a big obnoxious ring of text emblazoned on their faces warning anyone that contemplates copying the CD and pirating it not to or else the FBI will send them to Guantanamo Bay. The Mars Volta CD also had a presidential-seal looking FBI warning covering its artwork on the back.

Anyone who's gone through their 'rents record collections knows that, at least at one magical point in time (the 60s), album artwork is part of the whole package when it comes to music. I guess the importance of album art is diminishing as electronically delivered music gains in popularity, but I still think good album art- the cover, in particular- can really add to the whole package. Sure, Nevemind or Sgt Pepper's Lonely Heart's Club Band would still kick ass even without covers... but the covers just put those albums over the top.

So how do you think the Beatles would feel if the RIAA/FBI/whomever slapped a big ol' FBI ANTIPIRACY WARNING right across one of their brilliant album covers? I doubt that the Mars Volta nor Hot Hot Heat were very happy w/ those labels, either. Does that really discourage file sharing anyway?!

2) Have you ever wondered why your B-52s CD from the late 80s (gotta love Cosmic Thing) is so much quieter than Jay-Z / Linkin Park's Collision Course? Or any CD you've bought in the past few years? Read this article:

http://www.prorec.com/prorec/articles.nsf/articles/8A133F52D0FD71AB86256C2E005DAF1C

yeah, a lot of it's wordy, but if anything, just look at the pictures. Basically, there has been a competition for a while now on making music as LOUD as possible so it stands out from the rest of the pack. The problem with that is you lose the delicious dynamics of the music in the process- sure, that might not be a problem for a Lil' Jon song, but if Dark Side Of The Moon was compressed to all hell, it would be really tough to listen to it all the way through and to experience the musical / emotional roller coaster that the album takes you along on.

When my band, Focusin, was going to master our album, our engineer asked us an interesting question: "Do you want Sheryl Crowe / Pearl Jam early 90s levels, or do you want Linkin Park / Michelle Branch 2003 levels?" When he brought up the waveforms of those songs, the difference was astonishing. We opted for levels that you would be likely to find on a late 90s recording. The other day I listened to good ol' Heavens To Murgatroid all the way through on a long car ride, and then Hot Hot Heat's Elevators (released this year) came on. It nearly blew my ears out. I actually jumped and almost swerved off the road!

Will the trend be reversed? Again, read the article above. Maybe at some point people will grow weary of their music CONSTANTLY YELLING AT THEM and wake up and smell the coffee... but then again, never underestimate the stupidity of people in large groups.

This rant is over.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home